UK MPs reject EU withdrawal agreement « Khabarhub
Wednesday, June 12th, 2024

UK MPs reject EU withdrawal agreement

29 March 2019  

Time taken to read : < 1 Minute

  • A
  • A
  • A

LONDON: Lawmakers of the United Kingdom have rejected Prime Minister Theresa May’s EU withdrawal agreement on the day the UK was due to leave the EU, media reports said.

The government lost by a margin of 58 votes – 344 to 286.

Now that the UK has missed an EU deadline to delay Brexit to 22 May and leave with a deal.

Prime Minister May said the UK would have to find “an alternative way forward”.

She said that the outcome was “a matter of profound regret”. “I fear we are reaching the limits of this process in this House,” she added.

Meanwhile, the Downing Street said it was still not an “inevitability” that the country would have to take part in elections to the European Parliament in May. (Agencies)

Publish Date : 29 March 2019 22:48 PM

Today’s national news in a nutshell

Khabarhub brings you a glimpse of major developments of the

Lawmaker Gurung proposes downsizing federal ministries to 12

KATHMANDU: Deputy General Secretary of CPN-UML, Prithvi Subba Gurung, has

Bhattarai criticizes label of ‘Indian agent’, calls for new political force to address national issues

KATHMANDU: Dr. Baburam Bhattarai, Chairman of Nepal Socialist Party and

CK Raut advocates for directly elected Prime Minister system

KATHMANDU: The Janamat Party Chairman and lawmaker Dr. Chandra Kant

Former CJ Shrestha informed about RSS services

KATHMANDU: Former Chief Justice Kalyan Shrestha today visited the RSS