Nepal Police wins PM Cup Men’s National Cricket Tournament 2024


February 3, 2024


Nepal Police wins PM Cup Men’s National Cricket Tournament 2024

Photo: CAN

KATHMANDU: Nepal Police won the title of the Prime Minister Cup Men’s National Cricket Tournament 2024, defeating Tribhuvan Army Club in the final match at the Tribhuvan University cricket ground.

The Police team claimed a six-wicket win, maintaining an unbeaten record throughout the tournament.

In the initial innings, after winning the toss, Tribhuvan Army Club opted to bat first, setting a target of 182 runs.

Bibek Yadav played a crucial role for the Army Club, scoring a half-century with 63 runs.

Lalit Rajbangshi and Dipendra Singh Airee showcased their bowling prowess, each taking three wickets, while Sagar Dhakal, Karan KC, and Kushal Burtel secured one wicket each for Nepal Police.

In the second innings, Nepal Police successfully chased down the target in 37.5 overs, losing four wickets in the process.

Shankar Rana was the top contributor with 62 runs, followed by Arjun Saud (36 runs), Amit Shrestha (28 runs), and Aarif Sheikh (27 runs).

The tournament featured the participation of 10 teams, including seven representing the seven provinces and three departmental teams.

Nepal Police’s outstanding performance and victory in the final marked their success in the prestigious cricket competition.