KP Oli Cup: Madhesh Province wins Sudurpaschim by 8 wickets


November 27, 2023


KP Oli Cup: Madhesh Province wins Sudurpaschim by 8 wickets

Cricket match between Madhes and Sudurpaschim held in Pokhara.

POKHARA: In an encounter at the ongoing KP Oli Cup T-20 cricket tournament in Pokhara, Madhes Pradesh secured a victory by defeating the Sudurpaschim team with 8 wickets.

Chasing the target of 58 runs set by Sudurpaschim at the Pokhara stadium, Madhes achieved the victory losing only 2 wickets in just 4 overs and 4 balls.

Madhes opener Anil Shah showcased an explosive innings, contributing 25 runs in just 11 balls, including 3 fours and 2 sixes.

Imran Shaikh and Pawan Saraf played crucial roles, scoring 17 runs each off 9 and 5 balls, respectively.

Gajendra Bohara of Sudurpaschim managed to take 2 wickets in the bowling department.

In the earlier part of the game, Sudurpaschim won the toss, elected to bat first, and were restricted to a total of 58 runs in 15 overs.

Harishankar Shah was the standout bowler, claiming 4 wickets, while Rupesh Singh took 3 wickets.

Bishal Patel, Pradeep Paswan, and Bishal Sushling also contributed with a wicket each.

Naren Saud top-scored for Sudurpaschim with 18 runs. The Madhes bowlers dominated, leaving the Sudurpaschim batters struggling to settle at the crease.

Following this triumph, Madhes Pradesh and Nepal Police Club both stand at a group tally of 2 wins each.

Sudurpaschim, on the other hand, is yet to secure a victory after losing to Madhes.

The upcoming clash between Sudurpaschim and Police on Tuesday will determine the remaining semi-finalist.

Previously, the Armed Police Force (APF) and Bagmati Province have already secured spots in the semi-finals.