Arghakhanchi bus mishap death toll reaches 19; nine identified « Khabarhub
Saturday, July 20th, 2024

Arghakhanchi bus mishap death toll reaches 19; nine identified

28 November 2019  

Time taken to read : 2 Minute

  • A
  • A
  • A

ARGHAKHANCHI: The number of passengers killed in the bus accident at Narepani near Sandhikharka-6 of Arghakhanchhi on Wednesday afternoon has reached 19.

Nine passengers among those killed have been identified. The deceased are Shailesh Thapa, 23, of Bhumisthan Municipality-9, Santa Bahadur Basnet, 35, of Shitganga Municipality-2, Om Bahadur Thapa, 30, Shiva Lal Bhattarai, 57 of Sandhikharka-7, Balaram Bhattarai, 50, Maya Puri, 22, Monika Khadka, 8 of Buddhabhumi of Kapilvastu and Raj Kumar Mahato, 28, of Gulmi and Sita Basnet, 30, Sitganga-2, according to police.

Seventeen among those killed died on the spot while the other two died in course of treatment.

The ill-fated bus bearing registration plate Lu 2 Kha 2148 was heading toward Butwal from Sandhikharka, the district headquarters of Arghakhanchhi, when it fell some 500 meters down into a gorge, according to Surya Panthi, ASI at the Narepani police post.

Police said 11 of the deceased are male and 7 women. Thirteen sustained injuries.

Nepal Army, Nepal Police and locals had been mobilized for rescue operations.

Likewise, 11 among those injured have been sent to Butwal for treatment, according to Prakash Khatri, Police Inspector at the District Police Office, Arghakhanchi.


Publish Date : 28 November 2019 08:06 AM

Bardiya National Park sees rise on tourist arrival

GULARIYA, BARDIYA: The Bardiya National Park (BNP), a tourist destination

Foreign Ministry urges Nepali students in Dhaka to contact Embassy for necessary assistance

KATHMANDU: The government has urged Nepali residing in Bangladesh to

Today’s national news in a nutshell

Khabarhub brings you a glimpse of major developments of the

Three drown in Kaski

KASKI: Three persons lost lives in two water-related incidents. They

RPP will stand as a strong opposition: Rajendra Lingden

KATHMANDU: Rajendra Lingden, the chairman of the Rastriya Prajatantra Party