Task force for TOR preparation for parliamentary probe committee seeks agreement « Khabarhub
Thursday, June 13th, 2024

Task force for TOR preparation for parliamentary probe committee seeks agreement

23 May 2024  

Time taken to read : 2 Minute

  • A
  • A
  • A

KATHMANDU: The task force formed to prepare the Terms of Reference (TOR) for the parliamentary investigation committee met on Thursday at Singha Durbar after a three-day break, attempting to reach an agreement.

The government and the opposition had previously agreed to form a probe committee and established a task force to prepare the TOR.

However, the task force has not yet reached a conclusion due to disagreements over jurisdiction.

The main opposition party, Nepali Congress (NC), has insisted on including the name of Home Minister Rabi Lamichhane in the TOR.

In contrast, the ruling alliance of CPN (Maoist Center), CPN-UML, and Rastriya Swatantra Party (RSP) has rejected this demand.

The previous meeting of the task force, held on Tuesday, ended without a resolution.

The opposition has been continuously obstructing the parliament session, demanding the formation of the probe committee against Home Minister Lamichhane.

The task force is led by Law, Justice, and Parliamentary Affairs Minister Padam Giri and includes lawmaker Shishir Khanal from Rastriya Swatantra Party (RSP), Jeevan Pariyar from Nepali Congress, and Mahesh Bartaula from CPN-UML.

Publish Date : 23 May 2024 16:48 PM

Domestic tourist dies of altitude sickness at Thorangla Pass

MANANG: A Nepali tourist succumbed to altitude sickness at Ngisyang

IB arrests another suspect in HyperFund scam

KATHMANDU: The Central Investigation Bureau (CIB) of Nepal Police has

IN PICS: Pigeons turn to water as Kathmandu sizzles

KATHMANDU: As the mercury soars in Kathmandu Valley, with temperatures

Heatwave forces extension of school closures in Birgunj

BIRGUNJ: As scorching temperatures persist in the Tarai region, the

Landslides displace families and damage infrastructure in Sankhuwasabha

KIMATHANKA: A landslide swept away three houses last night in