Tribhuvan Army Club opts to bat first in PM Cup finals against Nepal Police « Khabarhub
Friday, June 21st, 2024

Tribhuvan Army Club opts to bat first in PM Cup finals against Nepal Police

03 February 2024  

Time taken to read : 3 Minute

  • A
  • A
  • A

KATHMANDU: Tribhuvan Army Club, after winning the toss at the Tribhuvan University cricket ground, has elected to bat first in the thrilling final of the Prime Minister Cup Men’s National Cricket Tournament.

As the match progresses past the 20-over mark, the Army has posted a score of 60 runs, losing six wickets in the process.

Remaining unbeaten in all nine league matches, Nepal Police Club has clinched the top spot, earning a well-deserved spot in the final.

The team displayed exceptional performance throughout the league stage, emerging victorious in all encounters.

With Police Club securing the top spot and Army Club claiming the second position with 14 points from nine games (7 wins and 2 losses), the final promises a riveting clash between two cricket powerhouses.

In the league stage, Army Club suffered a narrow 13-run defeat against Police in a closely contested encounter, setting the stage for an intense final battle.

The final showdown will witness Binod Bhandari leading Tribhuvan Army Club, relying on his remarkable form, including two centuries in the competition.

On the other hand, Deependra Singh Airee will captain Nepal Police, showcasing his leadership prowess.

Both teams boast a rich lineup of talent, with players like Kushal Malla, Bhim Sarki, Sompal Kami, Jitendra Mukhiya, and Sahab Alam featuring for Army Club, while Police Club includes notable players such as Kushal Bhurtel, Aarif Sheikh, Arjun Saud, Sagar Dhakal, Karan KC, and Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi.

The history between these two teams is marked by shared points in both 2017 and 2019 due to incomplete matches.

In 2019, Police claimed the title, while Army emerged victorious in 2021.

Army remains the only team to feature in all six editions of the final.

The winner of the Prime Minister Cup will be awarded Rs 10 lakhs, while the runner-up will receive Rs 5 lakhs.

Additionally, standout performers will be recognized, with the best player, batsman, and bowler receiving NPR 50,000, 20,000, and 20,000, respectively.

The emerging player will also be rewarded with Rs 10,000.

Publish Date : 03 February 2024 11:09 AM

PM Dahal urges intellectuals to advocate for change

KATHMANDU: Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’ has criticized those

‘Big mistake’ for South Korea to arm Ukraine – Putin

LONDON: Vladimir Putin has warned South Korea it would be

IRD reports revenue growth of 11.30%

KATHMANDU: The Inland Revenue Department (IRD) has reported a notable

Gold price up by Rs 1,900 per tola today

KATHMANDU: The price of gold increased by Rs 1,900 per

Judges Malla and Subedi to hear case against Home Minister Lamichhane

KATHMANDU: The Supreme Court is scheduled to hear a writ