EC presents report on Vice President’s election to President Paudel « Khabarhub
Tuesday, July 23rd, 2024

EC presents report on Vice President’s election to President Paudel

19 March 2023  

Time taken to read : 3 Minute

  • A
  • A
  • A

KATHMANDU: The Election Commission has presented a report about the recent election to the post Vice President to President Ramchandra Paudel.

In the voting held under the Vice President’s election on March 17, Ram Sahaya Yadav was elected to the post with 30,328 voting weightage, out of a total 52628 voting weightage.

Chief Election Commissioner Dinesh Kumar Thapaliya submitted the report to the Head-of-the-State amidst a program at the Office of the President, Sheetal Niwas in accordance with the Clause 60 of the Act relating to the Election to the President and Vice President- 2074 BS.

On the occasion, President Paudel expressed gratitude to the Election Commission for successfully holding the elections to the posts of the President, Vice President, Federal Parliament members, Province Assembly and the local levels.

Citing election a ‘beauty’ of democracy, he said the successful completion of election was itself a message that democracy is getting consolidated in the country.

The Chief Election Commissioner congratulated Paudel on his inauguration as the President following the March 9 election, wishing him a successful tenure at the Office of the President.

Citing a period of the past one as the ‘election year’, he said, the period that commenced with the election to 19 vacant posts at the National Assembly on 26 January, 2022 concluded with the election of the Vice President on March 17, 2023.

He thanked the government, bodies concerned, political parties, election candidates, voters and the people from all quarters who extended support to make the elections successful.

As per the Article 67 of the Constitution, the functions to be performed by the President shall be performed by the Vice-president during the absence of the President.

The EC announced the date for the Vice President’s election by exercising the rights granted to it by the Act relating to the Election to the President and Vice President, 2074 BS.

Election Commissioners Ram Prasad Bhandari, Dr Janaki Kumari Tuladhar, Sagun Shumsher JB Rana and Commission’s secretary Gokarna Mani Duwadi were among those in the team.

Newly-elect Vice President Ram Sahaya Prasad Yadav will be taking an oath of office and secrecy on Monday.


Publish Date : 19 March 2023 20:51 PM

Government to provide compensation for families of missing persons in natural disasters

KATHMANDU: The government will offer compensation to the families of

Rs 5,000 Bribery Case: Home Minister commands thorough investigation

KATHMANDU: Home Minister Ramesh Lekhak has directed the police to

India alert after boy dies from Nipah virus in Kerala

DELHI: Health authorities in India’s Kerala state have issued an

Nepal sees Rs 1,440 billion foreign trade deficit in 2023/24

KATHMANDU: Nepal’s foreign trade in the fiscal year 2023/24 saw

UML finalizes names of new ministers in Bagmati Province

KATHMANDU: As the Nepali Congress (NC) and CPN-UML agree to