Nine parties univocal on settling issues of transitional justice


March 5, 2023


Nine parties univocal on settling issues of transitional justice

Senior leaders of the eight parties supporting to Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal 'Prachanda' at Baluwatar. (File photo)

KATHMANDU: A meeting of the nine political parties has decided to conclude the issues relating to transitional justice.

The nine-party meeting held at Prime Minister’s residence, Baluwatar on Sunday evening, said issues raised over the transitional justice have drawn their attention seriously, and they were committed to reaching the remaining issues of peace process to a logical conclusion as per Comprehensive Peace Accord and spirit of the Constitution.

Issuing a press statement after the meeting, the nine political parties reminded it was clear that the related laws were made and commissions formed in the past on transitional justice and some works done.

The remaining works however will be addressed immediately, they stressed.

The press statement further mentioned that related law would be made by presenting a bill in the parliament to ensure justice to the victims of conflict as per the Supreme Court verdict.

“In addition to the formulation of law, the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, and the Commission on Inquiry of Enforced Disappeared Persons would be formed. We expect all sides’ positive role and cooperation to conclude these common issues, the significant agenda of the country,” the statement said.

On the eve of the third presidential election in the country and in course of the meaningful implementation of the constitution of Nepal, nine parties have asserted that they were clear and united regarding safeguarding constitution, thereby achieving sustainable peace, good-governance, development and prosperity.

The nine parties have said that their attention was seriously drawn towards some activities that were being conducted lately against the spirit and essence of the constitution and democratic republic system gained through scarifies and contributions of people.

“We are on the same page against the activities that are against constitution and against other supporting activities conducted in the name of the so called position. We’re clear that these are not constitution and democracy. We reaffirm our commitment to move ahead in unison to defend constitution and democratic republic,” reads the joint statement.

The statement was jointly issued by Prime Minister and Maoist Centre Chairperson Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’, Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba, Janata Samajwadi Party Chairperson Upendra Yadav, and Loktantrik Samajwadi Party Chairperson Mahantha Thakur.

Likewise, other leaders include Nepal Samajwadi Party Chairperson Dr Baburam Bhattarai, Unified Socialist Chairperson Madhav Kumar Nepal, Rastriya Janamorcha Chairperson Chitra Bahadur KC, Nagarik Unmukti Party Chairperson Ranjita Shrestha and Janamat Party Vice-Chairperson Abdul Khan.