Local levels elect 14,402 women representatives


May 27, 2022


Local levels elect 14,402 women representatives

KATHMANDU: A total of 14,402 women have been elected out of 55,699 women candidates in the local levels from the recently held election, the Election Commission (EC) shared as per the details received so far. This accounts for 40.89 per cent of the total elected representatives.

As per the data entry into the EC’s system till Thursday evening, three local levels have elected both chiefs and deputy chiefs from the election.

From this local level election, women have been elected chief in 25 different local levels.

Phulbati Rajbanshi is elected the Chairperson and Pujan Neupane Kunwar as the Vice-Chairperson of Gaurigunj Rural Municipality in Jhapa district.

In Bhairawai Rural Municipality of Dailekh district, Rita Shahi and Devi Bhandari are elected as the Chair and Vice Chair, respectively.

Likewise, both the women candidates made to the Mayor and Deputy Mayor in Lamki Chuha Municipality. Sushila Shahi was elected Mayor and Juna Chaudhary as the Deputy in Lamki Chuha.

Of the total 8,196 women candidates in Province 1, altogether 2,455 women have been elected while 2,700 women candidates made to the post from 15,780 women candidates in Madhes Province.

Likewise, 2,347 women have emerged victorious from 8,344 women candidates in Bagmati Province.
According to the EC, 1,622 women out of 4,649 women candidates won the election in Gandaki Province while the number of women winning election is 2,124 from 8,767 candidates in Lumbini Province.

Similarly, 1,524 women candidates are elected in Karnali Province from 4,878 women candidates and the number of women winning election in Sudurpaschim Province is 1,560 out of 5,085 women candidates.