NC likely to pick three ministers to participate in govt today

Gagan unlikely to become minister


September 29, 2021


NC likely to pick three ministers to participate in govt today

Nepali Congress Central Office. (File Photo)

KATHMANDU: Nepali Congress (NC) is finalizing the name of  three ministers to participate in government today.

Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba, who is also the NC president, has already appointed three ministers and one state minister from his camp.

Bal Krishna Khand, Gyanendra Bahadur Karki and Dr Narayan Khadka have already taken charge as Home Minister, Finance Minister and Foreign Minister, respectively. Similarly, Umesh Shrestha is the Minister of State for Health and Population.

Now two ministerial portfolios have been allocated for Ram Chandra Poudel faction and one for Krishna Sitaula group.

Two ministers among Sujata Koirala, Minendra Rijal, Dilendra Badu, Teju Lal Chaudhary and Rajan KC will be picked from Poudel faction, according to sources.

Similarly, one ministerial portfolio has been allocated for Sitaula group. One among Umakanta Chaudhary and Bhimsen Das Pradhan will be picked from the group.

Youth leader Gagan Thapa who joined Poudel faction from the Sitaula panel is not likely to become minister this time. The work of cabinet expansion had been hit due to the ordinance on political parties.

With the removable of the ordinance few days ago has paved the way for the cabinet expansion.