3300 votes counted: Gagan Thapa leading with 2164, Bishwaprakash 1328 « Khabarhub
Sunday, June 23rd, 2024

3300 votes counted: Gagan Thapa leading with 2164, Bishwaprakash 1328

16 December 2021  

Time taken to read : 2 Minute

  • A
  • A
  • A

KATHMANDU: The vote count for general secretaries under the 14th General Convention of Nepali Congress is underway at the central party office in Sanepa.

As per the preliminary vote count results, Gagan Thapa has taken the lead with 2164 votes followed by Bishwa Prakash Sharma with 1328 votes.

A total of 3300 votes have been counted so far.

Six candidates — Dr Prakash Sharan Mahat, Pradip Paudel, Dr Minendra Rijal, Gagan Thapa, Bishwa Prakash Sharma and Dr Raja Ram Karki — are contesting the election for the two posts of general secretaries of the NC.

Mahat and Paudel are from Sher Bahadur Deuba panel, Rijal and Thapa are from Dr Shekhar Koirala panel while Sharma and Karki are vying for the post of general secretaries from Prakash Man Singh and Bimalendra Nidhi panels, respectively.

Sher Bahadur Deuba has been elected as the president and Purna Bahadur Khadka and Dhan Raj Gurung have been elected as vice presidents of the NC.

In the election held on Monday under the 14th General Convention, 4,679 votes were cast. There was a total of 4,743 voters in the general convention.

Preliminary vote count update:

Gagan Thapa: 2164
Bishwa Prakash Sharma: 1328
Prakash Sharan Mahat: 1092
Pradip Paudel: 999
Minendra Rijal: 588
Raja Ram Karki: 76


Publish Date : 16 December 2021 14:45 PM

Himalayan Yoga Techniques Embark on Australian Journey with Nepal’s Nivedita

KATHMANDU: In the heart of Australia’s capital, at the prestigious

Liladevi Gadtaula to assume role of Acting Chief Secretary

KATHMANDU: With a corruption case filed against Chief Secretary Dr.

Govt’s committed to promoting all languages, cultures: Minister Tamang

KATHMANDU: Minister for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation, Hit Bahadur

Country will advance further under PM Dahal’s leadership: Mahesh Bartaula

KATHMANDU: The CPN-UML Chief Whip, Mahesh Bartaula, asserted that the

Organize the cooperative sector sullied by misconduct: Minister Aryal

KATHMANDU: Minister of Labor, Employment, and Social Security, Dol Prasad