PM Deuba expanding cabinet today; swearing-in at 4 pm


October 8, 2021


PM Deuba expanding cabinet today; swearing-in at 4 pm

Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba (File photo)

KATHMANDU: Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba is expanding the cabinet today, almost three months after his appointment as the Prime Minister of Nepal.

As things stand, the Council of Ministers will be expanded today as per the agreement reached among the coalition parties on Thursday.
Preparations are underway to administer the oath of office and secrecy to the new ministers at 4 pm, according to sources.

Prior to this, Nepali Congress, CPN (Unified Socialist), and Janata Samajwadi Party are finalizing the name of ministers to participate in the government.

According to the deal sealed yesterday, the NC will have a total of eight ministries, CPN (Maoist Center) will get five, and JSP and JSP will have four ministries each.

The Unified Socialist which had been dissatisfied with the allocations of ministries, has agreed to take part in the government after it got four ministers and two state ministers.

Unified Socialist has got the Ministry of Urban Development, the Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation and the Ministry of Labor and Employment and Social Security .

Similarly, JSP has been given the Ministry of Physical Infrastructure and Transport, the Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock Development, the Ministry of Federal Affairs and General Administration and the Ministry of Forests and Environment.

Likewise, the NC has got the Ministry of Defense, the Ministry of Home Affairs, the Ministry of Communication and Information Technology.

The CPN (Maoist Center) has got the Ministry of Energy, the Ministry of Education, Science and Technology, the Ministry of Lan Management, Cooperatives and Poverty Alleviation and the Ministry of Water Supplies.

Prime Minister Deuba who took charge of the government on July 13 had been running the government with five ministers and one state minister.