12 lawmakers absent as House voted on Constitution Amendment Bill « Khabarhub
Saturday, June 22nd, 2024

12 lawmakers absent as House voted on Constitution Amendment Bill

13 June 2020  

Time taken to read : 2 Minute

  • A
  • A
  • A

KATHMANDU: In a historic event, the House of Representatives unanimously endorsed the Constitution Amendment Bill on Saturday evening to make a change to the Coat of Arms as per the newly updated map of Nepal.

In the closed voting, 258 votes were cast in favor of the amendment bill and no vote against which is more than the two-thirds majority required for the endorsement, Speaker Agni Sapkota announced.

Some lawmakers were absent as house voted on the constitution amendment bill.

MPs Amrita Devi Agrahari, Gopal Bahadur Bam, Dulari Devi Khatweni, Dhan Bahadur Budha, Nagendra Kumar Chaudhary, Pramod Shah, Shiva Kumar Mandal, Surya Narayan Yadav, Surya Bahadur KC, Haribol Gajurel, Gyan Kumari Chhantyal and Sarita Giri were absent from Saturday’s meeting.

It should be noted that MPs Harinarayan Rauniyar, Resham Chaudhary, Mohammad Aftab Alam are in jail and Bijay Kumar Gachchhadar is suspended. MP Sarita Giri had boycotted the meeting and walked out.

Publish Date : 13 June 2020 19:39 PM

Today’s national news in a nutshell

Khabarhub brings you a glimpse of major developments of the

Three held on gold smuggling charge

KATHMANDU: Police have arrested three people on the charge of

China sees decline in marriage rate as economic insecurity among youth intensifies 

Even as China is struggling hard to end increasing demographic

Govt recommends ambassadors for eight countries, Lokdarshan Regmi for India

KATHMANDU: The government has recommended ambassadors for eight countries. The

Former PM Bhattarai calls for constitutional amendment to reform governance

KATHMANDU: Former Prime Minister Dr. Baburam Bhattarai has emphasized the