18 new members in the NA take oath « Khabarhub
Tuesday, July 23rd, 2024

18 new members in the NA take oath

04 March 2020  

Time taken to read : 2 Minute

  • A
  • A
  • A

KATHMANDU: Newly elected 18 members in the National Assembly took the oath of office and secrecy on Wednesday.

NA Chairman Ganesh Timilsina administered the oath to the new members at a program at the New Baneswor-based Federal Parliament Building.

The new members will have a six-year term.

Among them, while 16 are from the ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP), two are from the Rastriya Janata Party (RJP) Nepal.

Gopi Bahadur Sarki Achchhami, Indira Devi Gautam, Tulasa Kumari Dahal, Devendra Dahal, Shekhar Kumar Singh, Radheshyam Paswan, Ganga Kumari Belbase, Mrigendra Kumar Singh Yadav, and Beduram Bhusal are the new faces entering the NA.

Likewise, newly elected members Narayan Kaji Shrestha, Bhagawati Neupane, Jaga Prasad Sharma, Bimala Ghimire, Sumitra BC, Gopal Bhattarai, Sharada Devi Bhatta, Maya Prasad Sharma and Taraman Swar also took oath today.

NA Chair Timilsina offered the official logo to the members.

Similarly, the Federal Parliament Secretariat provided them a bag containing a copy of the Constitution and laws.

Through the January 23 NA election, seven women, two Dalits, two persons with disabilities or from minorities group and seven from other groups had been elected the NA member.

However, the nomination of one member by the President on the recommendation of the government is awaited.

18 lawmakers who completed their two-year term in the NA were given farewell on Tuesday.

The term was determined through a lottery as per the constitutional provision (Article 86).

The NA is a body of 59 members including three, at least one woman, nominated by the President on the recommendation of the government.

Publish Date : 04 March 2020 13:48 PM

Today’s national news in a nutshell

Khabarhub brings you a glimpse of major developments of the

Electricity lines restored to 6 industries

KATHMANDU: The Nepal Electricity Authority (NEA) has reinstated electricity lines

113 people killed in floods and landslides since monsoon rains began

KATHMANDU: Since the onset of monsoon rains on June 10,

India sets target of 179 runs for Nepal in Women’s T20 Asia Cup Match

KATHMANDU: India has set a target of 179 runs for

Finance Ministry identifies 46 challenges facing Nepal’s economy

KATHMANDU: The Finance Ministry officials briefed Finance Minister Bishnu Prasad