European Parliament elections kick off « Khabarhub
Tuesday, June 25th, 2024

European Parliament elections kick off

23 May 2019  

Time taken to read : 2 Minute

  • A
  • A
  • A

ROME: The polls are taking place all across countries of European Union (EU) starting from today to elect new European Parliament. The elections are scheduled to take place from 23 -26 May 2019. The last elections were held from 22-25 May 2014.

The European Union is a political and economic union of 28 member states of Europe. Czech Republic, Latvia, Malta and Slovakia are voting on May 25 and the remaining 21 EU nations cast their ballots on May 26. The results from every nation will come out on the evening of May 26.

Each member of European Union has a certain number of members to constitute the European Parliament. For examples, six from Malta, Luxembourg, Cyprus and Estonia and 96 from Germany summing up to a total of 751. As 73 British members are opting out, the new strength of European Parliament (EP) and Council will reduce the size.

EP will have 705 seats instead of 751 in the present elections. The seats will further rise in case new members join in the European Parliament.


Publish Date : 23 May 2019 16:34 PM

Nepal’s performance against South Africa inspired us: Rashid Khan

KATHMANDU: Afghanistan cricket team captain Rashid Khan praised Nepal’s outstanding

Jhapa Office collects over 850 million rupees revenue in 11 months

BHADRAPUR: The Transport Management Office in Jhapa has collected revenue

Campus Chief’s death in Bara: Police nab seven on murder allegation

BARA: Police have arrested seven people in connection with the

Six persons arrested for cheating more than Rs 130 million

KATHMANDU: Nepal Police have arrested six proprietors of Kalanki Trade

Initially critical, Oli praises budget after its approval

KATHMANDU: CPN-UML Chairman KP Oli stated that his party helped