In pics: SAG kicks off with grand opening ceremony « Khabarhub
Monday, July 15th, 2024

In pics: SAG kicks off with grand opening ceremony

KATHMANDU: President Bidya Devi Bhandari inaugurated the 13th South Asian Games (SAG) amid fanfare this evening at Dasarath Stadium in Kathmandu.

President Bhandari declared the mega sports event in the SAARC region open at 17:57 pm and welcomed the SAG-guests as saying-‘Welcome to the guests!’

The inaugural was marked by the march past by the players from the SAARC-member nations. The SAG’s torch was brought to the stadium after it was toured in all seven states in the country.

In the inaugural, a troupe of 7, 500 artists and students had performed, including the traditional Lakhe dance, in the stadium decked with light, flowers, frills and flags.

Fireworks were also cracked in the event amid the cheers and applause of spectators coming from the jam-packed 30,000-capacity-stadium.

The mascot of the 13th SAG- Krishnasaar (Blackbuck Antelope)-was displayed in the inaugural. Held in Nepal for the third time after a gap of 20 years, the last time the regional game had taken place in Nepal in 1999.

Present in the inaugural session were Vice-President Nanda Bahadur Pun, Chief Justice Cholendra Shumsher Rana, Nepal Communist Party (NCP) Chairperson and former Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’, former Prime Minister Madhav Kumar Nepal among other dignitaries.

Furthermore, in attendance on the occasion were the 13th SAG guests including technical delegates from various countries, tournament directors, referees, judges, technical assistants, media persons and sports lovers from several countries including the host country.

The 10-day event featuring 26 sports’ disciplines will be organized in various 30 venues in Kathmandu, Pokhara and Janakpur.

Publish Date : 01 December 2019 21:13 PM

Paddy planting progress reaches 67.3% nationwide

KATHMANDU: The country has achieved 67.3% completion of paddy planting

These are the 21 new ministers of the Oli-led government

KATHMANDU: Newly appointed Prime Minister and Chairman of CPN-UML, KP

Indian PM Modi congratulates PM Oli

KATHMANDU: Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi has congratulated KP Sharma

Prime Minister Oli sworn in

KATHMANDU: Prime Minister (PM) KP Oli took the oath of

JSP leaders Pradeep Yadav and Nawalkishore appointed as ministers

KATHMANDU: The Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP), led by Ashok Rai,