Parliamentary committee to investigate cooperative scam to start work from Sunday « Khabarhub
Sunday, June 16th, 2024

Parliamentary committee to investigate cooperative scam to start work from Sunday

31 May 2024  

Time taken to read : 3 Minute

  • A
  • A
  • A

KATHMANDU: The parliamentary committee formed to investigate cooperative-related fraud has decided to commence its work starting this Sunday.

The government established the “Parliamentary Investigation Special Committee” after sustained pressure from the opposition alliance led by the main opposition party, Nepali Congress (NC).

Led by CPN-UML lawmaker Surya Bahadur Thapa Chhetri, the committee has temporarily set up its office within the Parliament Secretariat itself.

Coordinator Thapa has indicated that preparations are in progress for the committee to initiate its work within a few days.

“We will open the office and finalize staff arrangements within a few days,” stated Coordinator Thapa. “We are gearing up to commence work within a few days, most likely from Sunday.”

The parliamentary committee has appealed to Speaker Devraj Ghimire to facilitate the establishment of an office and the allocation of necessary staff resources.

“We must promptly establish the office. Working from elsewhere is not feasible. We have urged Speaker Ghimire to arrange for the office setup,” added Coordinator Thapa. “The office management process has progressed, and the office will be operational within the Singha Durbar premises.”

According to officials, an office for the parliamentary committee has been designated within the Parliament Secretariat compound.

As per the plan, the committee’s office will be located in Building No. 2 of the Parliament Secretariat.

“The office will be situated within the Parliament Secretariat compound. The investigation committee’s office will be housed in Building No. 2,” officials confirmed.

To investigate the cooperative scam, the government formed a seven-member parliamentary committee on May 28.

The committee comprises two representatives each from NC and UML, and one each from the CPN-Maoist Center, Rastriya Swatantra Party (RSP), and the Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP).

The members of the probe committee include Badri Prasad Pandey and Ishwari Devi Nyupane from NC, Sarita Bhushal from UML, Lekh Nath Dahal from the Maoist Center, Shishir Khanal from RSP, and Dhruva Bahadur Pradhan from RPP.

Publish Date : 31 May 2024 19:54 PM

Today’s national news in a nutshell

Khabarhub brings you a glimpse of major developments of the

UML Chair Oli calls for review of FY 2024/25 budget

KATHMANDU: CPN (UML) Chairman KP Sharma Oli has called for

China’s subversive tactics at Indo-Nepal border for espionage

The Chinese Communist Party (CCP) has had a history of

NOC lowers fuel prices

KATHMANDU: The Nepal Oil Corporation (NOC) has decreased fuel prices.

Kathmandu records year’s highest temperature at 35.3°C

KATHMANDU: Kathmandu, the federal capital of Nepal, recorded its highest