Investigation committee to request essential documents from 20 problematic cooperatives « Khabarhub
Saturday, July 20th, 2024

Investigation committee to request essential documents from 20 problematic cooperatives

30 June 2024  

Time taken to read : 2 Minute

  • A
  • A
  • A

KATHMANDU: The parliamentary special investigation committee on the misuse of cooperative savings has decided to request essential documents from 20 problematic cooperatives.

At a meeting held, under the special committee’s coordinator and CPN-UML lawmaker Surya Thapa, at Singha Durbar on Sunday, the committee decided to send letters requesting details on the status of savings mobilization, audit reports, and other relevant information for the 20 troubled cooperatives listed in Schedule 1 of its mandate.

Thapa mentioned that the committee would study and initiate investigations once all the documents were received.

Additionally, the committee has consulted with various commissions and coordinators of previous committees regarding the investigation of troubled cooperatives.

The committee has held discussions with Radha Krishna Mainali, coordinator of the task force formed by the interim government in 1990, and Gauri Bahadur Karki, chair of the commission investigating troubled cooperatives, to gain insights from past studies and investigations, Thapa said.

He emphasized that based on these previous experiences, the committee aims to conduct an objective study to reach a conclusion.

The parliamentary investigation committee was formed on May 28 to investigate the misuse of cooperative savings.

The committee was established after the main opposition party, Nepali Congress (NC), obstructed parliament for a long time, demanding an investigation into the cooperative fund misuse scandal that implicated Deputy Prime Minister and Home Minister Rabi Lamichhane.

The investigation committee led by Thapa comprises Sarita Bhusal from UML, Badri Pandey and Ishwori Devi Neupane from NC, Lekhnath Dahal from CPN-Maoist Center, Shishir Khanal from Rastriya Swatantra party, and Dhurba Bahadur Pradhan from Rastriya Prajatantra Party as its members.

Publish Date : 30 June 2024 17:31 PM

National Assembly Vice-Chair departs for China

KATHMANDU: Vice Chair of the National Assembly, Bimala Ghimire, departed

Minister Bhattarai urges universities to connect research with communities

PATAN: Minister for Education, Science, and Technology, Bidya Bhattarai, has

Monsoon-induced casualties rise to 128 in Nepal

KATHMANDU, July 20: A total of 128 people have died

UML directs lawmakers to vote against Bagmati Chief Minister Jamakattel

KATHMANDU: The Chief Minister of Bagmati Province, Shalikram Jamakattel, is

Lumbini Province Chief Minister Mahara to seek vote of confidence on Sunday

KATHMANDU: Chief Minister of Lumbini Province Jokh Bahadur Mahara is