Govt forms Recommendation Committee to appoint TRC officer-bearers


April 12, 2024


Govt forms Recommendation Committee to appoint TRC officer-bearers

The meeting of the Council of Ministers/File photo.

KATHMANDU: The government has formed a recommendation committee to appoint officers for the two transitional justice commissions.

During today’s cabinet meeting at Singha Durbar in Kathmandu, it was decided to establish a committee chaired by former Chief Justice Om Prakash Mishra.

This committee will recommend Chairpersons and members for both the Truth and Reconciliation Commission and the Commission for Investigation on Enforced Disappeared Persons.

The committee comprises former Supreme Court Justice Jagadish Sharma Poudel, Dr. Arjun Kumar Karki, and Stella Tamang, said Minister for Communication and Information Technology Rekha Sharma.

Additionally, the meeting resolved to recommend to President Ram Chandra Paudel to conclude the current parliamentary session by midnight on May 14, according to Minister Sharma, who also serves as the government’s spokesperson.

Moreover, the meeting suggested nominating Dr. Anjan Shakya to fill the vacant seat in the National Assembly.

Furthermore, it was decided to designate the orange as the national fruit.

Similarly, Dr. Damodara Poudel has been appointed as the Honorary Consular General for the state of Ohio, USA.