Satish Kumar Singh of Janamat Party appointed CM of Madhesh Province « Khabarhub
Thursday, June 20th, 2024

Satish Kumar Singh of Janamat Party appointed CM of Madhesh Province

07 June 2024  

Time taken to read : 2 Minute

  • A
  • A
  • A

KATHMANDU: Satish Kumar Singh of the Janamat Party has been appointed as the Chief Minister (CM) of Madhesh Province on Friday morning.

Province Chief Sumitra Subedi Bhandari appointed Singh to the post as per Article 168 (2) of the Constitution of Nepal.

This appointment follows the call for parties to stake their claim to the post after the outgoing CM, Saroj Kumar Yadav of the Janata Samajbadi Party Nepal, failed to secure a vote of confidence on Wednesday.

Singh had earlier staked his claim to the post with the support of lawmakers from the CPN-UML, CPN (Maoist Center), and CPN (Unified Socialist).

He has garnered support from 55 lawmakers, including 13 from the Janamat Party, 24 from the UML, nine from the Maoist Center, seven from the Unified Socialist, and one each from the Nagarik Unmukti Party and Nepal Sangiya Samajbadi Party.

Singh was earlier elected as a member of the provincial assembly from Saptari.

He also served as the Chairman of Tilathi Koiladi in the Saptari district in 2075 BS.

Following a defeat in the local level election in 2079 BS, he was picked as a candidate by his party and elected to the provincial assembly.

Following his appointment, Singh is scheduled to take an oath of office and secrecy at 12:00 noon today.

Publish Date : 07 June 2024 11:28 AM

Early warning information on disasters to be disseminated through media

KATHMANDU: Minister for Communications and Information Technology Rekha Sharma announced

Judges will be appointed on time, says Law Minister

KATHMANDU: Minister for Law, Justice, and Parliamentary Affairs Padam Giri

Putin vows deeper ties with Vietnam in visit criticised by US

VIETNAM: The leaders of Vietnam and Russia have said they

Will China be able to resist West’s renewed push on Tibet?

It could be a turning point in the history of

Social Welfare Council to expand to all seven provinces

KATHMANDU: The Social Welfare Council will be expanded to all