UML withdraws support to govt, ministers resigning soon « Khabarhub
Monday, July 22nd, 2024

UML withdraws support to govt, ministers resigning soon

03 July 2024  

Time taken to read : 3 Minute

  • A
  • A
  • A

KATHMANDU:  The CPN-UML has withdrawn the support given to the government on Wednesday.

Ministers representing the UML in Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal Prachanda’s government are preparing to resign soon.

The move comes as pressure mounts on Prime Minister Dahal to resign, following the formation of a new political coalition.

All eight UML ministers are set to step down.

“We have already called on the honorable Prime Minister on Tuesday to pave the way for forming a national consensus government with the support of the NC,” UML Chief Whip Mahesh Bartaula said, adding, “It seems unlikely that he will step aside. To move forward with the formation of a new national government, our ministers will resign and withdraw their support today.”

On Tuesday, the party’s secretariat meeting requested Prime Minister Dahal to resign immediately.

However, Prime Minister Dahal has refused to resign and has stated that he will wait for a month to seek a vote of confidence.

In response, UML is pushing its ministers to resign.

“There is talk that Prime Minister Dahal might address the parliament and resign in a few days,” one minister told Khabarhub, adding, “If Prachanda decides to step down soon, our strategy will adjust accordingly. Since it seems unlikely that Dahal will step down easily, all UML ministers will resign.”

Earlier this week, the Nepali Congress (NC) and UML reached an agreement to form a new coalition government.

According to the agreement, UML Chairman KP Oli will become Prime Minister in the first phase, followed by NC President Sher Bahadur Deuba in the second phase.

UML ministers in the Dahal-led government include Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Physical Infrastructure and Transport Raghubir Mahaseth, Minister of Law, Justice, and Parliamentary Affairs Padam Giri, Minister of Agriculture and Livestock Development Jwalakumari Sah, Minister of Industry, Commerce, and Supplies Damodar Bhandari, Minister of Land Management, Cooperatives, and Poverty Alleviation Balram Adhikari, Minister of Water Supply Rajendrakumar Rai, Minister of Women, Children, and Senior Citizens Bhagawati Chaudhary, and Minister of Defense Hariprasad Upreti.



Publish Date : 03 July 2024 19:34 PM

Chetnarayan Acharya to assume office as Lumbini Province Chief Minister

DANG: Chetnarayan Acharya of CPN-UML is poised to become the

Women’s Asia Cup: Nepal to face India on Tuesday

KATHMANDU – Nepal is gearing up to take on India

Pakistan’s tiny Olympic contingent reflects its declining sporting culture

After a gap of three years since a Covid-deferred Tokyo

Nepal-China relations getting stronger: CoAS Sharma

KATHMANDU: Chief of Army Staff (CoAS) Prabhuram Sharma said the

Maoist Center ministers resign from Karnali Province govt

KARNALI: Ministers from the Maoist Center in the Karnali Province