Maoist Center asserts claim on six seats for upcoming NA election


January 3, 2024


Maoist Center asserts claim on six seats for upcoming NA election

Prime Minsiter and Chairman of CPN (Maoist Center) Pushpa Kamal Dahal

KATHMANDU: The CPN (Maoist Center), the current leader of the coalition government, has staked its claim on six seats in the forthcoming National Assembly (NA) election scheduled for January 25.

With the tenure of three lawmakers representing the CPN (Maoist Center) concluding on March 4, the party aims to secure these three seats, in addition to three seats from CPN-UML, in the upcoming election. Simultaneously, the tenure of nine lawmakers from CPN-UML is also set to end on the same date.

However, sources indicate that other coalition members have proposed allocating only five seats to the CPN (Maoist Center).

Dev Gurung, a leader of the party, states that the ruling coalition has yet to finalize decisions on which party will field its candidates in specific constituencies.

In the race for female leaders in Koshi Province, notable contenders include Laxmi Neupane, Champa Karki, Lata Neupane, Mamta Rajbangshi, and Krishna Kumari Rai. Among the male candidates are Ajamar Kangmang Rai, Tanka Giri, and Bogendra Yadav.

Furthermore, individuals seeking a comeback after their defeat in the last election include Pampha Bhusal, Giri Raj Mani Pokharel, Matrika Prasad Yadav, Chakramani Khanal, and Dev Gurung. Additionally, student leader Lekhnath Neupane is also positioning himself as a likely candidate for the upcoming NA election.