Lumbini CM Giri fails to garner vote of confidence

NC Lumbini Province PP leader Chaudhary likely to be next CM


April 24, 2023


Lumbini CM Giri fails to garner vote of confidence

Chief Minister Leela Giri. (File photo)

BUTWAL: Lumbini Province Chief Minister Leela Giri has failed to garner the vote of confidence motion tabled in the Province Assembly for discussion on Monday.

A majority of lawmakers rejected his request for a vote of confidence.

Thrty-three lawmakers, including 29 lawmakers from CPN-UML and four from Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) supported the motion of confidence proposed by Chief Minister Giri.

Fifty-three lawmakers voted against CM Giri.

In addition to UML and RPP, there are 27 lawmakers from Nepali Congress (NC), 11 from CPN-Maoist Center, four from Nagarik Unmukti Party, three each from Janamat Party and Janata Samajbadi Party and one from CPN-Unified Socialist party. The province has one independent lawmaker.

Earlier, UML Lumbini parliamentary party leader Giri was appointed Chief Minister with the support of the Maoist Center, and Rastriya Janamorcha lawmakers.

After the UML left the federal government, the Maoist Center quit the Gandaki government on March 10.

With the dismissal of Giri from the post of the Chief Minister, it is now confirmed that Dilli Chaudhary, the leader of the parliamentary party of Nepali Congress Lumbini Province Assembly, will become the chief minister.

Chaudhary has already submitted his claim for the post of Chief Minister to Province Chief Amik Sherchan.