Chitwan-2 by-election: EC grants election symbols to 18 parties


March 9, 2023


Chitwan-2 by-election: EC grants election symbols to 18 parties

Election Commission of Nepal at Kantipath in Kathmandu/File Photo

KATHMANDU: The Election Commission (EC) has allocated election symbols to 18 political parties for the by-election to the Member of the House of the Representatives taking place in the Chitwan electoral constituency-2 on April 23.

Nepal Workers and Peasants’ Party, Mongol National Organisation, Rastriya Nagarik Party, Nepali Congress, and Rastriya Janamukti Party got the election symbols.

Likewise, other parties include Rastriya Janamorcha, CPN-UML, Maoist Centre, Rastriya Swatantra Party, CPN (Unified Socialist), Nagarik Unmukti Party, Hamro Nepali Party, Puna Jagaran Party Nepal, and Maulik Jarokilo Party.

Similarly, Rastriya Mukti Andolan Nepal, Nepali Congress (BP), Rastriya Prajatantra Party and Jaya Janmabhumi Party Nepal also got election symbols.

By-election is required in the Chitwan-2 with Rabi Lamichhane, the Chair of Rastriya Swatantra Party, who won the HoR election in the November 20 election was disqualified by the court to hold the post over his Nepali citizenship issue.