EC secures commitments from govt, parties on election code of conduct


September 26, 2022


EC secures commitments from govt, parties on election code of conduct

Election Commission of Nepal at Kantipath, Kathmandu/File Photo

KATHMANDU: The government and political parties have shown commitment that they would honestly abide by the election code of conduct.

The Election Commission (EC) secured the commitment from the Prime Minister, Home Minister, chairpersons of political parties and their representatives.

They vowed to adhere to the code in order to hold the election in a free, fair and peaceful atmosphere.

The election to House of Representatives and Provincial Assembly has been slated for November 20 this year.

The letter of commitment reads, “We are committed to honestly implement the legal provisions mentioned in constitution, Election Commission Act, Act on Political Parties, Election (Crime and Punishment) Act, 2073, House of Representatives Member Election Act, Provincial Assembly Member Act and Election Code of Conduct, 2079.”

The commitment paper was signed by Nepali Congress President and Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba, Vice Chairperson of CPN UML, Subash Nembang, Chairperson of CPN (Unified Socialist), Madhav Kumar Nepal, leader of CPN (Maoist Centre), Lilamani Pokhrel, leader of Rastriya Janamorcha, Durga Poudel, and leader of Loktantrik Samajbadi Party, Keshav Jha, among others.

EC had also summoned Janata Samajbadi Party, Bibeksheel Sajha Party, Sanghiya Loktantrik Rastriya Manch, Nepal Sanghiya Samajbadi Party, and Nepal Workers and Peasant Party.

The EC is issuing election code of conduct within some days. EC Spokesperson Shaligram Sharma Poudel informed that the political parties vowed to implement election code of conduct and make others follow suit.

CPN Maoist Centre leader Pokhrel said he had visited EC office and signed in the commitment paper.

It is said the political parties demanded the EC to extend time for election publicity citing that would be insufficient.

The election is being held on November 20 for 275 seats in HoR and 550 seats for Provincial Members.