Vote count in 749 out of 753 local bodies over; results of 4 yet to come out


May 26, 2022


Vote count in 749 out of 753 local bodies over; results of 4 yet to come out

KATHMANDU: The final voting results of 749 local levels including five metropolises and 11 sub-metropolises have come out.

As per the latest vote count updates unveiled by the Election Commission, the final results of four local bodies including Kathmandu Metropolitan City are yet to come.

According to the Commission, the Nepali Congress has won the most number of municipalities from the chief to the members, followed by CPN-UML and CPN (Maoist Center) respectively.

Similarly, Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP) is in the fourth position while CPN (Unified Socialist) is in the fifth position with wins in 20 local bodies including one metropolis and one sub-metropolis.

Loktantrik Samajwadi Party (LSP) has won major posts in 16 municipalities.

Similarly, Rastriya Prajatantra Party, Rastriya Janamorcha, and Resham Chaudhary-led Citizens’ Liberation Party have won major posts in four municipalities each.

Janmat Party led by CK Raut has won major posts in two municipalities while Nepal Workers’ and Peasants’ Party (MWPP), Terai Madhesh Loktantrik Party, Janata Pragatisheel Party, and Bibeksheel Sajha Party have won major posts in one municipality.

Similarly, 12 independent candidates have got prominent posts in the local bodies.

The remaining local bodies whose results are yet to come out are Triyuga municipality of Udayapur from Province 1 (where the CPN (Unified Socialist) is taking lead), Kathmandu Metropolitan City of Bagmati Province (where independent candidate Balen Shah is leading, Tilotta municipality of Rupandehi from Lumbini Province (where NC is leading) and Budhiganga rural municipality of Bajura from Sudurpaschim Province (where the counting of votes has not started yet).