National Assembly Election: Counting underway

Results to be out today itself


January 26, 2022


National Assembly Election: Counting underway

Votes being counted.

KATHMANDU: Voting has ended in all the provinces under the National Assembly election.

The counting of votes is currently underway.

Voting started to elect 19 lawmakers to the posts lying vacant in the National Assembly, the Upper House of the Federal Parliament, this morning.

The Election Commission (EC) had fixed eight voting centers and 14 polling booths for this purpose.

There were 2,025 voters in seven provinces.

As many as 532 provincial lawmakers and the mayors/chairpersons and deputy mayors/ deputy chairpersons of local units cast votes to elect 19 NA lawmakers in the elections.

The election for NA members took place as the tenure of eight NA members from CPN-UML, four from CPN (Unified Socialist), four from CPN (Maoist Centre) and three from Nepali Congress is expiring on coming March 4.

There is a provision that the election should be held before 35 days of the expiry of the tenure.

The vote-count results will be announced today itself.