Women participation in HoR: Seven get directly elected, two still leading


November 25, 2022


Women participation in HoR: Seven get directly elected, two still leading

KATHMANDU: Out of 165 seats of the House of Representatives (HoR) under the first-past-the-post, only seven women candidates have been elected so far. Two women candidates are in the lead in the constituencies with pending results.

Nepali Congress, the largest party in terms of FPTP seats has got no woman leaders elected so far. NC has won 42 seats till now.

In the meantime, CPN-UML, which has won 31 seats so far, has got three women elected. Julikumari Mahato from Dhanusha-3, Jwalakumari Sah from Bara-3 and Bidya Bhattarai from Kaski-2 got elected from UML. Bhagwati Chaudhary has taken the lead from Sunsari-3. The votes are being counted there.

Another left party CPN-Maoist center has got only one woman elected under FPTP. Rekha Sharma is the only woman elected from Dang-2. Maoist Center has won 12 seats.

CPN-Unified Socialist party, which got 10 candidates elected in HoR seats has no winner woman.

Newly formed Rastriya Swatantra Party which has won seven seats in HoR under FPTP system got two women elected. Sovita Gautam from Kathmandu-2 and  Dr. Tosima Karki from Lalitpur-3, were elected in the National Independent Party which won seven seats. Goma Tamang of Sunsari-1 has taken the lead. The votes are being counted.

Rastriya Prajatantra party has got five candidates elected and two are leading in the vote count. All seven are male in this party.

Likewise, all three seats won by Janata Samajbadi Party are won by male candidates.

Nagarik Unmukti Party got Ranjita Shrestha elected from Kailali-1. This party has got two candidates victorious in the election.

Rastriya Janamorcha, Janmat Party, Nepal Majdoor Kisan Party won 1 seat each and only men are there.