NC’s Thani secures HoR seat from Surkhet-2


November 23, 2022


NC’s Thani secures HoR seat from Surkhet-2

SURKHET: Candidate of Nepali Congress (NC) in the election to the House of Representatives (HoR) from Surkhet constituency no. 2 has been declared winner.

Thani obtained 34,625 votes against his nearest rival Amrit Bahadur Budha Chhetri of CPN (UML), who garnered 29,558 votes.

Thani routed Budha Chhetri, who is also the UML’s district chairman, with a margin of 5,067 votes. With this win, Thani made to the parliament three times.

However, he was defeated by UML’s Nabaraj Rawat in the parliamentary elections of 2074 BS.

Meanwhile, NC’s Purna Bahadur Khadka has led in the initial counting of votes in Surkhet constituency no. 1.

According to the Office of the Returning Officer, Khadka has led the vote count tally by getting 1,772 while UML’s Dhruba Kumar Shahi has got 1,355 from the count of 3,238 votes.