Today’s national news in a nutshell


May 22, 2022


Today’s national news in a nutshell

KATHMANDU: Khabarhub brings to you a glimpse of major developments of the day in Nepal, including politics, business/economy, sports, entertainment, and more.

Govt increases price of petroleum products

The government has increased the price of petrol, diesel, kerosene and aviation fuel (domestic) by Rs 10 per liter and gas by Rs 200 per cylinder with effect from Sunday midnight.

With the new price, the price of petrol in Kathmandu Valley will now be Rs 180, diesel and kerosene Rs 163 per liter. Similarly, the price of LP gas will be Rs 1,800.

Top leaders of ruling coalition discuss govt policies and programs

The top leaders of the ruling coalition met at Prime Minister and Nepali Congress (NC) President Sher Bahadur Deuba’s official residence in Baluwatar on Sunday.

According to Nepali Congress (NC) leader Purna Bahadur Khadka, the top leaders of the top leaders discussed the policy and program to be presented on behalf of the government on May 24.

US Under Secretary Zeya calls on Foreign Affairs Minister Khadka

A delegation led by the US Under Secretary for Civilian Security, Democracy and Human Rights, Uzra Zeya paid a courtesy call on Minister for Foreign Affairs Dr Narayan Khadka at the Ministry.

The meeting between the minister and Zeya focused on friendly bilateral relations and cooperation in bilateral and multilateral forums as well as on other various issues, according to the Ministry.

Mayoral candidate Dhanraj leading by 3,437 votes in Pokhara

Mayoral candidate Dhanraj Acharya and deputy mayoral candidate Manju Devi Gurung have maintained their lead in Pokhara Metropolitan City.

Acharya is the candidate of Unified Socialist Party and Gurung is the CPN-UML candidate.

Acharya is ahead by a margin of 3,437 votes over UML candidate Krishna Thapa.

Renu Dahal leads with 8,782 votes in Bharatpur

Common candidate for the ruling alliance for the post of Mayor of Bharatpur Metropolitan City Renu Dahal has taken a lead of 8,782 votes.

So far, she has received 39,472 votes while her nearest contender Bijay Subedi of CPN (UML) has got 30,690 votes.