NC wins in Gramthan Rural Municipality, UML in Urlabari


May 20, 2022


NC wins in Gramthan Rural Municipality, UML in Urlabari

MORANG: Nepali Congress (NC) candidate has won the election as chair in Gramthan Rural Municipality in Morang district.

Jaya Prakash Gachchhadar Tharu of NC won the election with 7,605 votes, defeating UML’s Shivanarayan Majhi Tharu, who got 6,093 votes.

In the post of vice-chair, UML’s Gunabati Devi Tharu emerged winner with 6,123 votes against her rival Bhukhani Kumari Majhi of NC, who got 5,448 votes.

Of the total seven wards, UML’s candidates won in five wards while NC and Maoist Centre won each one.

Likewise, CPN (UML)’s Ganga Prasad Kharel won the mayoral candidacy of Urlabari Municipality by getting 12,156 votes. His nearest rival Khadga Bahadur Phago of NC got 10,290 votes.

Mina Kumar Khatiwada of UML won the poll as the deputy mayor in Urlabari by getting 10,728 votes against her rival Sita Karki of NC. Karki managed 10,640 votes.

Out of nine wards in Urlabari, UML and NC won five and four wards, respectively.

The Province Election Officer, Biratnagar, said election results of six local levels in the district are awaited.