NC registers win in Syangja’s Putalibazaar


May 18, 2022


NC registers win in Syangja’s Putalibazaar

SYANGJA: Nepali Congress (NC) candidates have emerged victorious as mayor and deputy mayor of Putalibazaar Municipality in Syangja.

As per the vote count results published this evening, NC candidates Tulsiram Regmi and Devi Aryal registered their wins as mayor and deputy mayor.

Regmi defeated his close contender Seema Kumari Chhetri of CPN-UML by a vote margin of 2,404, shared Chief Election Officer Basanta Raj Poudel.

Regmi received 12,494 votes whereas Chhetri got 10,090 votes. In earlier local level election too, Regmi and Chhetri were in the mayoral race in Putalibazaar.

Chhetri had won the election in 2074 BS.

Likewise, Aryal clinched the deputy mayoral post by defeating Mahesh Puri of UML.

Aryal obtained 11,748 votes while her close contender Puri secured 10,761 votes.

It may be noted that UML had won mayor, deputy mayor and majority ward chairs in Putalibazaar in last term election.

This time NC has reversed the results. NC has won wards 1,3,4,5,7,8,10,11 and 14 whereas UML clinched wards 2, 6, 9, 12 and 13.