Province 2 Assembly to vote on proposals for Province 2 name, capital Monday


January 16, 2022


Province 2 Assembly to vote on proposals for Province 2 name, capital Monday

Province 2 Assembly in Janakpur. (File photo)

KATHMANDU: Voting is being held in Province 2 Assembly (PA) on Monday to finalize the name and capital of the province.

A special committee formed to finalize the capital and name of Province 2 presented its report at the PA Sunday.

Special committee member Parameshwar Sah, submitting the report, said parties could not reach a conclusion despite extensive discussion on finalizing province name and capital. Sah said, “Parties stuck their guns on their proposals.”

Earlier, seven places were proposed as provincial capital and six names as the name for province. After discussions, the committee was able to narrow down the proposal to four names for province and three places for capital.

The report submitted by the special committee is also to be deliberated Monday morning.

The PA secretariat said the proposals would be put to vote immediately after the discussion Monday. Voting will be held on four proposals on name and three on capital.

The proposed four names of Province 2 are Madhes, Janaki, Mithila  Bhojpura and Madhya Madhesh.

The three proposals made for the capital of Province 2 include Janakpur, Pokhriya, Birgunj, Birjung Municipality and Sakhuwa Prasauni Rural Municipality and Parsagadhi Municipality.

Currently, the 107-member province assembly has now been reduced to 104-member following the action taken against three CPN (Maoist Center) lawmakers.