EC to announce final names of PR candidates on Monday


December 11, 2022


EC to announce final names of PR candidates on Monday

Building of the Election Commission of Nepal at Kantipath in Kathmandu/File Photo

KATHMANDU: The Election Commission (EC) is announcing the final list of the elected members of parliament under the proportional representation category on Monday.

Yagya Prasad Bhattarai, joint secretary at the EC, said that the names will be announced after verifying the names of the PR members submitted by the political parties.

The CPN-UML has won the highest number of seats under the PR category followed by Nepali Congress (NC) in the election held on November 20.

The UML garnered 34 seats, NC 32, Maoist Center 14, Rastriya Swatantra Party 13, Rastriya Prajatantra Party 7, Janata Samajwadi Party and Janamat Party 5 each under the PR system.

The EC has already said it would submit the final report related to the election will be submitted to the President Bidya Devi Bhandari within 7 days from the date of the announcement of the PR members.