Nima Nuru elected president of NMA


June 11, 2022


Photo: Koseli Adventure

KATHMANDU: Nima Nuru Sherpa has been elected as the president of Nepal Mountaineering Association. According to the final results announced last night, Sherpa won with 735 votes. His nearest rival Rajendra Man Shrestha polled 122 votes.

Thakur Raj Pandey has been elected as the vice president of the Association with 428 votes. Maya Sherpa, another competitor for the post the vice-president, got 423 votes.

Aang Dawa Sherpa has been elected as the first vice president and Dawa Jangbu Sherpa as the second vice president. Similarly, Mohan Lamsal has won the post of General Secretary with 489 votes. Dhan Bahadur Gurung has been elected as the secretary and Mukti Pandey as the treasurer.

Likewise, Angdawa Sherpa, Hiskhad Gurung, Singi Lama, Pitamber Gurung, Rajendra Bahadur Lama, Ram Chandra Dhamala, Namgyal Jangbu Sherpa, Pashangdawa Sherpa and Dinesh Tamang have been elected as members of the new executive committee.

Voting for the new leadership took place on Friday at Academy Hall. Out of the 2,049 members of the association, there were 1,215 who had renewed their membership as voters. The election was held for a 27-member working committee.