NC finalizes names of 32 PR candidates for HoR (with list) « Khabarhub
Saturday, July 20th, 2024

NC finalizes names of 32 PR candidates for HoR (with list)

10 December 2022  

Time taken to read : 3 Minute

  • A
  • A
  • A

KATHMANDU: The Nepali Congress (NC) has finalized the list of candidates to represent the party in the parliament under the proportional representation (PR) system.

NC senior leader Ram Chandra Paudel said that the party office bearers’ meeting held in Baluwatar on Saturday has finalized the list.

He informed that Jeevan Pariyar (from Dalit), Bimalendra Nidhi (from Madhesi) and Prakasharan Mahat from (Khas-Arya) are the three leaders selected under the PR category.

After the work executive committee could not reach a decision, the list was finalized by the office bearers’ meeting.

Although PM Deuba was under pressure to take Gopal Man Shrestha and Farmullah Mansoor he had to leave them o take Nidhi and Mahat on board.

NC has got 32 seats under the PR system. There is a mandatory provision to increase the representation of women in the Federal Parliament to 33 ensure percent representation.

Since one woman was directly elected and the National Assembly had 2 members, the NC had to select 29 women under PR category.

Prime Minister’s wife Arju Deuba Rana and Home Minister Balkrishna Khand’s wife Manju Khand are among the women MPs in the House of Representatives chosen under PR category.

The women’s list comprises Ambika Basnet, Sarita Prasain, Arju Rana Deuba, Ishwari Neupane, Pratima Gautam, Manju Khand, Rama Koirala Paudyal, Kantika Sejuwal, Maina Rawalal from Khas Arya category whereas Saraswati Bajimaya, Liladevi Limbu, Sitakumari Rana, Sushila Thing, Sapana Rajbhandari, Maya Rai, Kusum Thapamagar, Manorama Sherchan, Anjani Shrestha are from the Adibasi Janajati category.

Similarly, Shanti BK, Rupa BK, Sita Mizar, Asha BK have been selected from Dalits and Nagina Yadav, Muktakumari Yadav, Chanda Chaudhary, and Sangeeta Mandal have been chosen from Madhesi community.

Likewise, the party has sent the name of Nagina Yadav, Muktakumari Yadav, Chanda Chaudhary and Gita Mandal from Madhesi category.

Javeda Khatun Jaga has been chosen under Muslim category and Kalpana Chaudhary and Binakumari Thanet have been selected from the Tharu community for the parliament.

Publish Date : 10 December 2022 17:56 PM

Lumbini Province Chief Minister Mahara to seek vote of confidence on Sunday

KATHMANDU: Chief Minister of Lumbini Province Jokh Bahadur Mahara is

How bodies of frozen climbers were finally recovered from Everest ‘death zone’

KATHMANDU: Tshiring Jangbu Sherpa cannot forget the dead body he

These are the parties likely to support PM Oli’s trust motion

KATHMANDU: Newly elected Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli is set

PM Oli to take vote of confidence on Sunday

KATHMANDU: Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli is set to take

Ghimire nominated as chief whip of Nepali Congress parliamentary party

KATHMANDU: Shyam Kumar Ghimire has been appointed as the Chief