Chand elected Volleyball Association chair


September 8, 2022


Chand elected Volleyball Association chair

National Volleyball team/File Photo

KATHMANDU: Jitendra Bahadur Chand has been elected the chairperson of the Nepal Volleyball Association.

Chand defeated his close contender Niroj Maskey by 26 votes to become the new chair for next four-year term.

According to the vote count results published this morning, Chand received 76 votes while Maskey got 50 votes in the race.

Newly-elected chair Chand was the general-secretary of the Association in the previous tenure.

Among others elected in the new committee are Roshan Shrestha (general secretary), Shyam Shrestha (treasurer) and Gautam Lachhiwa (vice-chairperson from Bagmati province).

The election was held to pick a new leadership in the Association with seven vice-chairpersons, general-secretary, seven secretaries, treasurer and 11 working committee members.