Civil servants refusing to work for elections to face action « Khabarhub
Friday, June 21st, 2024

Civil servants refusing to work for elections to face action

06 May 2022  

Time taken to read : 3 Minute

  • A
  • A
  • A

KATHMANDU: The Election Commission (EC) has directed the concerned authorities to take strict action as per the prevailing law if the civil servants refused to work diligently for the local level election to be held on May 13.

It may be noted that Section 7 of the Election Commission Act, 2073 BS provides that the EC may seek the assistance of any government or corporation employee for the conduct of the election. Section 44 of the same Act states that departmental action can be taken against those denying to join assigned duties or not fulfilling it due diligently.

Polling Officers, Assistant Polling Officers, Assistant Staff and Counting Staff are to be appointed in accordance with the Local Level Election (Human Resource Management) Directives, 2078. The EC has directed all the Chief Returning Officers and Returning Officers to take strict action as per the prevailing law against the civil servants who failed to report or fulfill their duties after being deputed for it.

According to the prevailing law, departmental and other necessary action can be taken against the employees who refuse to work in election-related assignment without a valid reason.

Meanwhile, the EC has said that all the ballot papers required for the May 13 local elections have been printed and the transportation of ballot papers will be completed in all the districts by May 6. Only seven districts of Madhes province are left for transportation of the ballot papers.

According to the printing officer of the commission, Baburam Koirala, 20.746 million ballot papers have been printed so far.

The EC has so far sought 24-hour clarification from 37 political parties and individuals for carrying activities against Election Code of Conduct-2078.

It has asked Chief Minister of Sudurpaschim Province, Trilochan Bhatta, to submit a written response within 24 hours after the EC got the information that Chief Minister Bhatta expressed commitment to provide Rs 50,000 relief each to fire-victim families in course of onsite visit of fire-affected freed kamaiya settlement at Kailari rural municipality-7 in Kailali district.

Similarly, the EC has sought clarification from Chairperson of Election Observation Committee, Nepal, Pradeep Pokharel, candidate of chairperson of Durga Bhagawati rural municipality-5 in Rautahat district Dharmanath Chaudhary, mayoral candidate of Kathmandu Metropolitan City, Keshav Sthapit, chairperson candidate of Melamchi municipality-10 in Sindhupalchowk, Amrit Khanal, Minister for Social Development of Bagmati Province, Kumari Moktan, among others.

Publish Date : 06 May 2022 07:45 AM

Today’s national news in a nutshell

Khabarhub brings you a glimpse of major developments of the

Excessive heat hits countries around the world

LONDON: Many parts of the world are currently experiencing above-average

Early warning information on disasters to be disseminated through media

KATHMANDU: Minister for Communications and Information Technology Rekha Sharma announced

Judges will be appointed on time, says Law Minister

KATHMANDU: Minister for Law, Justice, and Parliamentary Affairs Padam Giri

Putin vows deeper ties with Vietnam in visit criticised by US

VIETNAM: The leaders of Vietnam and Russia have said they