20 candidates secure 30 thousand plus votes yet lost HoR seats


December 3, 2022


20 candidates secure 30 thousand plus votes yet lost HoR seats

Image for Representation.

KATHMANDU: Twenty candidates who contested for the election to the member of the House of Representatives-2079 lost the poll even after gathering over 30,000 votes.

Eight candidates from Nepali Congress, seven from CPN (UML), three from CPN (Maoist Centre), one each from CPN (Unified Socialist) and Rastriya Janamorcha secured more than 30,000 votes but failed to secure their palce in new HoR.

In Province-1, NC candidate from Panchthar constituency-1 Bhismaraj Angdembe received 32,089 votes but lost the race with a margin of 46 votes.

Other NC candidates, Krishna Prasad Sitaula from Jhapa constituency-3 obtained 37,386 votes, Sujata Koirala 31,940 and Bijay Kumar Gachchhadar 35,600.

Likewise, CPN (UML)’s Jagadish Prasad Kusiyait from Sunsari-4 garnered 30,371 votes.

In Madhes Province, CPN (Maoist Centre)’s Narendra Saha Kalawar from Sarlahi-3 secured 32,168 and NC candidate Umakanta Chaudhary from Bara-1 received 30,056. Both of them could not make their space in the parliament.

In Bagmati Province, UML candidate from Ramechhap-1 Kailash Prasad Dhungel lost the election even after garnering 30,730 votes. UML’s Resham Bahadur Lama from Kavrepalanchowk-1 also gathered 30,548 but failed to win the election.

Similarly, NC’s Shiva Prasad Humagain from Kavrepalanchowk-2 obtained 39,482 votes and CPN (Unified Socialist)’s Birodh Khatiwada from Makawanpur-2 secured 30,432.Despite securing over 30,000 votes, both the candidates could not ascend to the parliament.

In Gandaki Province, CPN (Maoist Centre)’s Dev Prasad Gurung contesting from Lamjung-1 got 31,791 votes, UML”s Tilak Bahadur Mahat from Nawalparasi Bardaghar Susta (East)-2 obtained 34,110.

In Lumbini, UML candidate Pradeep Kumar Gyawali was defeated in the HoR election even after receiving 32,152 votes, NC’s Pushpa Bhusal from Arghakhanchi-1 received 40,945, NC’s Bal Krishna Khand from Rupandehi-3 garnered 34,036, UML’s Brijesh Kumar Gupta from Kapilvastu-2 gathered 38,697 and Rastriya Janamorcha’s Durga Poudel from Pyuthan-1 secured 35,814.

However, all of them failed to become the parliamentary member.
In Karnali Province, although UML’s Dhurba Kumar Shahi from Surkhet-1 obtained 30,988, he lost the election.

In Sudurpaschim Province, CPN (Maoist Centre) candidate Narendra Bahadur Kunwar from Baitadi-1 lost the HoR election even after getting 32,080 votes, according to the Election Commission.