10 candidates elected unopposed in Taplejung local polls


May 2, 2022


10 candidates elected unopposed in Taplejung local polls

TAPLEJUNG: Ten candidates have been elected unopposed in local-level election in Taplejung.

They have been elected unopposed after candidacy against them was not filed and some candidacies filed against some posts were withdrawn.

Five members including ward chairperson at Phaktanglung rural municipality have been elected unopposed.
Of them, three are from Nepali Congress, one each from CPN (UML) and CPN (Maoist Centre).

According to the District Election Office, Taplejung, a total of 10 member including one woman member and four Dailt woman members have been unanimously elected in recent period.

Similarly, five independent candidates including ward members have been elected at Olangchungola, according to the District Election Office.

A woman candidate Ganga Darnal from CPN-UML has been unanimously elected at Phuling municipality-5.
Likewise, Sita Devi sarki, Laxmi Maya BK and Manju Kami from Nepali Congress have been elected unopposed as Dalit woman members at Sirijanga rural municipality-8, Mikwakhola rural municipality-3 and Phatanglung rural municipality-6 respectively, according to the Office.

Sarita Gahate from CPN (Maoist Centre) has been elected as Dalit woman member at Mikwakhola rural municipality-5, according to Election Officer at the District Election Office, Bipin Dulal.