Opp’n parties form alliance to topple UML-led govt in Province 1

New govt likely by mid-Sept


August 30, 2021


Opp’n parties form alliance to topple UML-led govt in Province 1

Chief Minister of Province 1 Bhim Acharya (File photo)

BIRATNAGAR: The post of Chief Minister Bhim Acharya, who took charge as the Chief Minister of Province 1 on Thursday, has fallen into crisis.

Opposition parties have formed an alliance to topple the government led by CPN-UML at a time when the latter is mustering efforts to save the Acharya-led provincial government.

Newly-formed CPN (Unified Socialist), CPN (Maoist Center), Nepali Congress, Janata Samajwadi Party along with other two fringe parties have joined hands against the UML-led government.

Ten lawmakers of Unified Socialist – Rajendra Kumar Rai, Khinu Langwa, Sabitri Kumari Regmi, Rajan Rai, Krishna Kumari Rai, Ganesh Kumar Kambang, Sunita Kumari Chaudhari, Sarita Thapa, Upendra Ghimire, Padam Kumari Ghimire have already voiced their support in favor of Unified Socialist Chairman Madhav Kumar Nepal.

Central member of the Unified Socialist and Provincial lawmaker Rajendra Rai has informed that the new government will be formed by mid-September.

Of the 93-member Provincial Assembly of Province 1, UML has 51 lawmakersL, 21 in Nepali Congress, 15 in Maoist Center, three in JSP and one each in Federal Democratic National Forum and RPP.