Province 2 assembly forms 16 member parliamentary committee to name province « Khabarhub
Thursday, June 13th, 2024

Province 2 assembly forms 16 member parliamentary committee to name province

28 December 2021  

Time taken to read : 2 Minute

  • A
  • A
  • A

KATHMANDU: Province 2 assembly has formed a 16 member parliamentary committee to decide the naming and capital of Province No. 2.

According to Speaker Saroj Yadav, a 16-member ‘Special Committee to study on the Capital and Naming of Province 2, 2021’ has been formed under the convener-ship of the Speaker in the province assembly on Tuesday.

“The parliamentary committee has been formed on the basis of party consensus as no two-thirds majority has been reached in the name proposed by the parties and parliamentarians,” Speaker Yadav said.

The committee has Deputy Speaker Upama Kumari Dev, as co-convener and Upendra Prasad Kushwaha, Kishori Sah (Kamal), Jagat Prasad Yadav, Dilip Kumar Sah, Parameshwar Sah, Bindeshwar Prasad Yadav, Shatrudhan Mahato, Shardadevi Thapa, Shiv Chandra Chaudhary, Shailendra Kumar Yadav, Sanjay Kumar Yadav, Sabitri Devi Sah, Sundar Bahadur Bishwakarma and Surita Sah as its members.

According to Speaker Yadav, the committee will prepare a report and submit it to the province assembly within 15 days.

He informed that the committee has got the mandate to conduct on-site visits and interactions and discussions when deemed necessary. Even before this, the Assembly had formed a parliamentary committee for naming and capital; however, after failure to suggest a name by consensus, the parliament had organized election to settle the name. Even in the election, no proposal could get a two-thirds majority.

Publish Date : 28 December 2021 20:28 PM

International Tourism Fair to begin in Kathmandu from tomorrow

KATHMANDU: An international tourism fair will be held in Kathmandu

Challenges faced by families in overcoming chemical dependency

Chemical dependency is not an isolated issue that affects only

Hamas has proposed unworkable changes to cease-fire deal: Blinken

WASHINGTON DC: U.S. Secretary of State Antony Blinken said that

Kathmandu’s temperature to remain between 31 and 33 degrees Celsius today

KATHMANDU: The temperature in Kathmandu today is likely to stand

HoR meeting taking place today

KATHMANDU: A meeting of the House of Representatives (HoR) is