Ruling coalition to nominate Rajendra Pandey as Chief Minister of Bagmati Province


October 27, 2021


Ruling coalition to nominate Rajendra Pandey as Chief Minister of Bagmati Province

Unified Socialist Party leader Rajendra Pandey. (File Photo)

KATHMANDU: The ruling coalition has decided to nominate Rajendra Pandey, leader of the Unified Socialist Party, as the Chief Minister of Bagmati State.

The decision to this effect was made after Chief Minister Asta Laxmi Shakya announced her resignation on Wednesday.

Shakya announced her resignation in accordance with Article 169 (1) (a) of the Constitution of Nepal.

She said she had paved the way for a new government as per the decision of her party’s meeting.

Shakya’s vote of confidence proposal was scheduled to be discussed Wednesday.

Formerly seen close to the then disgruntled faction of CPN-UML led by Madhav Kumar Nepal, Shakya had sided with CPM-UML Chairman KP Oli after assurance of getting the post of Chief Minister.

Accordingly, Chairman Oli had got her selected for the post. She had been claiming that she would manage to garner support from leader Nepal’s CPN-Unified Socialist.

Chief Minister Shakya had tabled a vote of confidence motion on October 10. Province lawmakers had expressed their opinion on her proposal on October 27.

Shakya, who was appointed as the chief minister on August 18, had been in the minority after the UML split.

There are 109 members in the Bagmati Province Assembly. Chief Minister Shakya needed 55 MPs to garner a vote of confidence. After the split, UML has only 43 MPs.

The ruling coalition has agreed to hand over the Bagmati chief minister to the Unified Socialists. In Bagmati, there are 22 lawmakers from Nepali Congress, 23 CPN-Maoist Center and 13 Unified Socialist MPs.

Similarly, there are three MPs from Bibeksheel Sajha Party, two from Nepal Peasants and Farmers’ Party, two from Rastriya Prajatantra Party and one independent.