12 parties to take part in National Assembly elections


December 26, 2021


12 parties to take part in National Assembly elections

Building of the Election Commission at Kantipath, Kathmandu. (File photo)

KATHMANDU: As many as 12 political parties have registered with the Election Commission (EC) for the upcoming National Assembly election on January 26.

The EC had set Saturday as the deadline for the registration of political parties to participate in the election.

According to the EC, political parties, including the Maoist Center, CPN-UML, Unified Socialist, Rastriya Janamorcha Party, Nepal Majdoor Kisan Party, Nepal Loktantrik Party, Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP) and the Aitihasik Prajatantrik Janata Party have filed their application for the same.

Likewise, Loktantrik Samajwadi Party Nepal, Rastriya Prajatantra Party, Nepali Congress and Nepal Pariwar Dal have also registered their application.

According to EC, it will give the election symbol to the party and publish the final list of candidates on January 4.

Elections to the National Assembly are going to be held for the 19 seats – 8 from the CPN-UML, four from Unified Socialist, four from Maoist Center and three from Nepali Congress — that will be vacant on March 4, 2022.

The EC has already appointed the District Judges of the respective districts as Election Officers in the same district.