Province 1 Chief Minister Rai resigns « Khabarhub
Sunday, June 16th, 2024

Province 1 Chief Minister Rai resigns

Bhim Acharya to be next CM

26 August 2021  

Time taken to read : 2 Minute

  • A
  • A
  • A

BIRATNAGAR: Chief Minister of Province 1 Sherdhan Rai has resigned from his post Thursday.

His resignation came soon after a Parliamentary Party (PP) meeting of the party held today itself.

UML Secretary Bhim Acharya who severed ties his with leader Madhav Kumar Nepal will be appointed as the PP leader and then Chief Minister of Province 1.

According to sources, Acharya will be administered oath of office and secrecy today itself.

In the 93-member Province Assembly of Province 1, there are 92 lawmakers, currently. Of them, UML has 51 lawmakers including a speaker, while the other lawmaker Gulephun Khatun is at large after being convicted of criminal case.

Forty-seven lawmakers are necessary for a majority in the province assembly.  Opposition alliance needs additional eight to nine lawmakers to form a new government against the incumbent one.

Similarly, Nepali Congress (NC) has 21 lawmakers, CPN (Maoist Center) 15, Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP) 3, Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) and Federal Democratic Forum (FDF) have one each.

Publish Date : 26 August 2021 12:18 PM

Today’s national news in a nutshell

Khabarhub brings you a glimpse of major developments of the

CPPCC Vice Chair Bater calls on PM Dahal

KATHMANDU: The Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference (CPPCC) Vice Chairman

Identity activists renew protests against naming ‘Koshi’ province

KATHMANDU: Identity activists in Koshi province have announced a renewed

Dr Wagle advises govt to implement economic reform plan

KATHMANDU: House of Representatives (HoR) member Dr. Swarnim Wagle has

Prabhu Sah’s IT Army protests against DoFE

KATHMANDU: The IT Army, affiliated with Prabhu Sah-led Am Janata