Four ‘floor-crossing’ Karnali Province lawmakers lose seat


April 26, 2021


Four ‘floor-crossing’ Karnali Province lawmakers lose seat

KATHMANDU: Four provincial lawmakers elected from CPN-UML have lost their seat in Karnali Province Assembly (PA).

Their dismissal was announced by Karnali PA Speaker Raj Bahadur Shahi at PA meeting earlier Monday.

The four PA members are Prakash Jwala, Kurma Raj Shahi, Ammar Bahadur Shahi and Nanda Singh Buda. The four leaders had disregarded the party whip’s direction during the floor test in the province and crossed floor to support the government of CM Mahendra Shahi.

The provincial parliamentary party (PP) CPN-UML registered a letter, seeking the dismissal of four ‘floor-crossing’ provincial lawmakers of the party from the Karnali PA, with the PA Secretariat in Birendranagar, Surkhet, Sunday.

A meeting of UML 10th general convention organizing committee held on April 23 decided to initiate process to strip the PA members of their seat and party general membership.