Four ex-CJs also demand CJ Rana’s resignation


October 25, 2021


Four ex-CJs also demand CJ Rana’s resignation

KATHMANDU: Four former Chief Justices have called for the resignation of Chief Justice Cholendra Shumsher Rana.

Former CJs Min Bahadur Rayamajhi, Anup Raj Sharma, Kalyan Shrestha and Sushila Karki issued a joint statement Monday calling on CJ Rana to resign.

Stating that it is an unprecedentedly worrying atmosphere in the Nepal’s judicial history, the ex-CJs said this situation should be addressed immediately.

“In the midst of the challenges facing a competent judiciary, we call on the judiciary’s leadership to show the courage to exit by rising above self-interest and in favor of judiciary of the country,” the four former CJs said in the statement.

The ex-CJs are of the view that the credibility of the judiciary and the people’s trust in it have been shaken due to public doubts and concerns about the performance, behavior and character of the chief justice.

“In a sensitive institution such as the judiciary if its credibility is eroded by critical actions and behavior of its own leadership, it will be fatal for the judiciary as well as for the country’s constitutional system and democracy,” the statement said.

Also Read

Supreme Court Bar, too, calls for CJ Rana to resign

Dr Govinda KC warns of strike if CJ Rana does not resign

Nepal Bar also concludes CJ Rana should resign

Supreme Court judges conclude Chief Justice should resign

CJ Rana-convened full court meet ‘postponed’ due to ‘unwillingness’ of SC judges

Nepal Bar holding emergency meeting to dwell on SC’s latest development