14 HoR MPs supporting Mahantha Thakur verify signatures at EC


August 25, 2021


14 HoR MPs supporting Mahantha Thakur verify signatures at EC

Leaders of the proposed Democratic Socialist Party at the Election Commission. (Photo: news karkhana)

KATHMANDU: Fourteen lawmakers close to leader Mahantha Thakur have verified their names at the Election Commission (EC) to show themselves on the proposed Democratic Socialist Party (DSP) on Wednesday.

Reacting after the verification from 14 lawmakers of House of Representatives, leader Rajendra Mahato claimed that his party has got the legitimacy.

According to Mahato, 17 out of 51 Central Executive Committee members of the erstwhile Janata Samajbadi Party have verified their signatures on the newly formed DSP’s side.

DSP leaders including Mahanta Thakur, Rajendra Mahato and others had reached the commission’s office for verification on Wednesday morning.

The EC had summoned the Madhav Nepal-led CPN-Unified (Socialist) and the Mahantha Thakur-led Democratic Socialist Party (DSP) for identification.

The Thakur-Mahato faction defected from Janata Samajwadi Party to form Democratic Samajwadi Party (DSP).

Leader Nepal-led CPN-United and Thakur-led DSP had filed an application with the EC seeking registrations of their parties on Friday.

The EC will take a decision in this regard by verifying both the parties between 10:30 am and 2 pm on Wednesday.

The Election Commission is preparing to issue party registration certificates today after identifying the leaders of both the proposed parties.