All 133 members of Nepali Congress’ central working committee finalized « Khabarhub
Friday, June 21st, 2024

All 133 members of Nepali Congress’ central working committee finalized

Deuba faction gets 82 percent of seats while Shekhar Koirala faction secures 16 percent

23 December 2021  

Time taken to read : 2 Minute

  • A
  • A
  • A

KATHMANDU: The final result of the 14th general convention of Nepali Congress (NC) has been announced on Thursday.

The general convention held from December 10-13 saw an election for a total of 133 central members, including 13 office bearers.

Re-elected NC President Sher Bahadur Deuba backed candidates won one vice presidency and six joint general secretaries’ positions totaling seven office bearers’ posts. Dr. Shekhar Koirala faction had won one vice presidency and seat of general secretary, and two joint general secretaries i.e. four seats among office-bearers.

Backed by leader Prakash Man Singh,  Bishwa Prakash Sharma was elected as a joint general secretary.

Out of 123 central members, Deuba faction claimed seats of 101 central members and seven office bearers i.e. a whopping 109 seats in total; while Koirala faction won 19 central members’ seats and leader Singh-backed candidates won two posts.

Dr Shashank Koirala won central members with the popular vote and represented all three panels.

In overall, Deuba faction claimed 82 percent of the seats and Shekhar Koirala won 16 percent.

Shekhar Koirala has automatically become the central member.

The remaining 33 members in the 167-member central working committee will be nominated by the party president.

Publish Date : 23 December 2021 21:19 PM

China sees decline in marriage rate as economic insecurity among youth intensifies 

Even as China is struggling hard to end increasing demographic

Govt recommends ambassadors for eight countries, Lokdarshan Regmi for India

KATHMANDU: The government has recommended ambassadors for eight countries. The

Former PM Bhattarai calls for constitutional amendment to reform governance

KATHMANDU: Former Prime Minister Dr. Baburam Bhattarai has emphasized the

RSP’s presence in the parliament sans significance : RPP Chair Lingden

KATHMANDU: Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) Chairman Rajendra Lingden, stated that

NC directs all its lawmakers to attend parliament session

KATHMANDU: The main opposition party Nepali Congress (NC) has instructed