CoAS Thapa transfers key army officials


June 20, 2021


CoAS Thapa transfers key army officials

The building of Nepal Army Headquarters located at Bhadrakali in Kathmandu. (File photo)

KATHMANDU: Nepali Army has transferred twelve Brigadier Generals. Chief of Army Staff (CoAS) Purna Chandra Thapa has initiated the process of transferring 12 army officials, including the heads of two important departments of the army.

The next Chief of Army Staff Prabhu Ram Sharma has started building his team. At Sharma’s request, Chief of Army Staff Thapa has proposed the transfer of Chok Bahadur Dhakal as the CoAS Army Assistant and Sunil Shrestha as the Army Secretary.

Both are military officers of 28 BASIC. Both Dhakal and Shrestha have done NDC from China. In the army, both are known as professional and academic officers.

The military secretary and military assistant are considered to be the most important and powerful departments in the army.

Likewise, Bijay Thapa has been transferred to the Welfare Directorate, Prakash Deuja in the 2nd Brigade, Man Bahadur Mahara in the 5th Brigade, Krishna Dev Bhatt in the Policy Directorate, and Nakul Rayamajhi in the Strategy Directorate.

Chief of Army Staff Thapa is preparing to stay on leave from August 8. After Thapa, Sharma is almost certain to become the new Chief of Army Staff.